John Werner was named 1st Team MSCJohn Werner was named 1st Team MSC

Four Patriots Named All Conference

Six Selected Academic All Conference

The St. Catharine College Patriot's added some hardware to their shelves and walls when the Mid-South Conference named the MSC and Academic teams Sunday. The Patriots had four players named to the All Conference Team and six named to the Academic Team.

"What a great honor for our guys," noted Patriot skipper Luther Bramblett.  "All of these guys worked hard on and off the field.  I'm proud of their accomplishments."

John Werner (Anaheim, CA) was the only Patriot named to the MSC 1st Team.  The junior hurler went 6-4 with a 3.58 ERA in 83 innings.  Werner struck out 80 and opponents batted just .223 against him.

Second baseman Alfredo Bohorquez (Maracaibo, Venezuela) and outfielder Nick Rosso (Santa Barbara, CA) were the only position players named for the Patriots.  They were both selected to the MSC 2nd team.  Bohorquez led the Patriots at the plate, batting .320 with 38 stolen bases.  He led the Bat Pats with 43 runs and 63 hits.  Rosso batted .305 and led the Patriots with 3 homeruns.  He scored 25 runs and knocked in 27, while adding 10 doubles and 2 triples.

Closer Jake McCoy was also named to the MSC 2nd Team.  McCoy led the Patriots with 9 saves in 21 appearances.  He tossed 27.2 innings and had a 3-1 record with 21 K's.  Opponents batted a mere .227 off of him.

Two Patriots earned Mid-South Conference Gold Glove's for their defensive skills over the season.  Alfredo Bohorquez was named the Gold Glove second baseman with a .968 fielding clip and Harold Diaz (Gurabo, PR) was on of the Gold Glove outfielders.  Diaz had a .976 fielding percentage.

Six Patriots were named to the Mid-South Conference Academic Team.  These players must have an overall GPA of 3.25 or higher.  Seniors Andrew Nelson (Eureka, CA) and Josh Whitmer (Taylorsville, KY) and juniors Ty Broady (Greenville, KY), Marc Mason (Tehama, CA), Eric Walker (Rockford, IL) and Alex Wick (San Diego, CA) were all named to the Team.

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share