Soccer (M)

The menThe men's soccer award winners.

Soccer Men Haul in Conference Awards

     It has been a season unlike any other for the St. Catharine College men’s soccer team. And that banner season continued in the post-season as Tim Wolz’s Patriots hauled in a record number of awards at the Mid-South Conference banquet at Campbellsville University.

     Headlining the awards were senior forward Ashley Woods (Manchester, England) and Wolz who is in his fifth year as St. Catharine coach.

     Woods was named Mid-South Conference Co-Player of the Year along with Campbellsville’s Marcelo Petit. Woods finished the season first in the nation in game winning goals with eight as the Patriots compiled a 13-5 regular season record. He also was sixth in total points nationally with 46 and sixth in total goals with 20.

     Wolz was named Coach of the Year, recognizing a major turnaround from last season when his team won just four total games and finished last in the conference. Wolz, whose team finished in second place this season and is just one victory away from the national tournament, also is the first coach in Mid-South Conference history to receive Coach of the Year honors for both a men’s and women’s program. In 2002 he earned that recognition for leading the University of Cumberlands women.

     At Thursday’s banquet, six Patriots were named the conference All-Academic honors. Those were Matt Bloom, Gentry Bryant, Thad Dodge, Jake Jackson, Kevin Owens, and Marvin Wesselburg.

     In addition, four players C.J. Powell, Max Bristow, Ashley Woods and Ross Brown, were named First Team All Mid-South Conference.
Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share