Thursday, April 23, 2015


St. Catharine (30-13, 13-5 MSC) and the University of the Cumberlands gave up a combined 13 unearned runs in the MSC series opener, and the SC Patriots came out on top in the bottom of the 10th inning on a Harold Diaz (Gurabo, PR) walk off single to win 9-8.

Drew Kissel (Jeffersonville, IN) reached base on a bad hop single and was replaced by pinch runner Lamont Calloway (Louisville, KY) with 1 out in the 10th. Calloway advanced to second base on a bad pick off attempt and Alfredo Bohorquez (Maracaibo, Venezuela) was walked, setting up Diaz for a walk off single up the middle scoring Calloway. It was Calloway's 3rd run scored on the day.

St. Catharine jumped on top with 2 runs in the 3rd, all with 2 outs. Kissel and Bohorquez both singled and Diaz knocked home Calloway for the 1st run and Bohorquez scored on a UC error. Cumberlands tied it up with 2 runs off starter John Werner (Anaheim, CA), who got the no decision. The senior tossed 6 innings, allowing 5 runs (2 earned) on 8 hits. He tallied 5 K's, which brings his total to a single season school record 93 punch outs.

In the top of the 5th, UC (26-23, 8-10 MSC) scored 3 unearned runs to take a 5-2 lead. The Patriots answered with 4 runs in the 5th and 2 more in the 6th to widen the lead. UC plated 3 more unearned runs in the 8th which tied the game at 8-8 off reliever Nathan Getzin (Louisville, KY). Getzin tossed 1.1 innings, allowing 3 unearned runs on 5 hits. Austin Willis-Greene (Manhattan, NY) picked up the win in relief, hurling 2.2 innings of shut out ball. He allowed just 1 hit and got a key inning ending double play with bases loaded on a diving play by Santiago Arce (Chula Vista, CA) in the 8th.

SC picked up 12 hits in the game. They were led by Harold Diaz who went 3-4 with 2 runs and 2 RBI's. Alfredo Bohorquez went 3-5 with 3 runs scored and Tyler Devine (Harrodsburg, KY) went 2-5 with 2 RBI's. Drew Kissel had a 2 hit day as well.

Both teams are back in action tomorrow, as the Patriots honor 9 seniors in between games. The opener starts at 12:00.